What are the Consequences of Underage Drinking in Virginia?
You’re at a party and you’ve been drinking. Next thing you know, the cops are everywhere. A million things are going through your mind. Questions like: “What are the penalties” & “Do I really need an attorney?” Attorney Matthew Schottmiller at Schottmiller Law can help answer your questions.
Under Virginia Code §4.01-305, it is unlawful for a person under 21 years of age to purchase, consume, or possess alcohol. The penalties may include:
- Up to 12 months in jail
- Maximum fine of $2,500; mandatory minimum fine of $500
- Driver’s license suspension for at least 180 days, up to 1 year
- 50 hours of community service
- Alcohol abuse counseling
The next question you will probably be asking yourself is, “Do I need an attorney?” Considering the above possible consequences if found guilty, you should consult with an attorney to know if there are any options available to you. An attorney can legally analyze if your case may be eventually dismissed or minimize the consequences if found guilty.
Don’t let an underage drinking charge follow you around for the rest of your life. If you or somebody that you know has been charged with underage drinking, please give Schottmiller Law a call at 540-815-6288. You can also come to our office location at 30 East Clay Street Salem Virginia 24153.